Top 10 Most Successful Indian Cricket Captains

The captain is the pillar of the team. He holds the responsibility of the whole team and maintains the unity among the team member. It’s the captain who integrate the efforts of the team towards right direction as per their strength and weakness and it ultimately helps the team to perform well. Here I come with the top 10 Most Successful Captains of India (including captains in ODI) who have made their top position by doing best of them in the captainship.

The rankings of the captain are done not only on the basis of their performances and games won, but also their popularity and trust made them in the heart of the people.

10. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag

Sehwag has done captaincy in Test Cricket from 2005 to 2012 and 2003 to 2011 in ODI in different matches. His record in ODI matches is: Match Played-12, Won-7, Lost-5 whereas that of Test Cricket are: Match Played-4, Won-2, Lost-1, and Drawn-1. He was called as the most destructive batsman of the team. He has been awarded Padma Shree in the year 2010.

9. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir has done captaincy in ODI matches only and not in any national or Test Cricket Match from 2000 to 2001. But his captaincy in ODI was so much remarkable that we can’t exclude him from the list. He has played 6 ODI and made victory in all six matches with brilliant performance and captaincy.

8. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar

No doubt Sachin is one of the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket. He has done captaincy only a few years from 1996 to 2000. He has not made remarkable performances as a captain in the test cricket as his record is only four winning out of 25 matches and nine lost. His performance in ODI is also not that impressive in terms of winning as he has won only 23 Match out of 73 but he has made brilliant performances in ODI s by being the only to score 100 centuries.

7. Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid

Dravid is one of the greatest batsman and captains of Indian Cricket Team. He is the fourth highest run-scorer in the Test Cricket. He has been captain of Indian Team from 2003 to 2007. The records made by him in Test Cricket are: Match Played-25, Won-8, Lost-6 and Drawn-11 whereas that of ODI are: Match Played-79, Won-42, Lost-33, and Drawn-4. He was the first batsman to score hundreds in four test innings consecutively.

6. Sunil Gavaskar

Sunil Gavaskar

He is also one of the captains of team India who leads the team long period from 1975 to 1984. He is regarded as one of the finest opening batsman. His record in the test cricket is: Match Played-47, Won-9, Lost-8 and Drawn-30 whereas that of ODI Matches are: Match Played-37, Won-14, Lost-21, and Drawn-2. His achievements are that he is first Test Cricket player to make 10000+ runs, he has scored the highest run (774) as a debut player, he was the first Indian Cricketer to get over 100 catches in a Test and much more.

5. Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev

He has done captaincy in the Indian Team from 1982 to 1986. The record made by him in test cricket are: Match Played-34, Won-4, Lost-7 and Drawn-23 which is not quite impressive but he has made team India win in 1983 World Cup. He is the also the highest wicket taker of his time in both test and ODI matches and scored 5000 plus runs in atest match. His record in ODI Matches is Match Played-74, Won-39, Lost-33, and Drawn-2. He was also appointed as the coach of Indian National Cricket Team in 1999.

4. Mohammad Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin is one of the captains who has lead the Indian Cricket Team for a long duration from the year 1989 to 1998. His record in the test cricket is: Match Played-47, Won-14, Lost-14 and Draw-19 whereas that of ODI are: Match Played: 174, Won-90, Lost-72, Tied-8, and Drawn-4. He is the first cricketer in the world who has hit three centuries consecutively in his debut match. He is one of the most successful captains as he has won the highest number of ODI Matches i.e. 103 and Test Match i.e. 14during his captaincy.

3. Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly

He is one of the consistent batsman who has done captaincy in the test cricket from the year 1999 to 2005. His record in the Test Cricket is: Match Played-49, Won-21, Lost-13 and Draw-15 whereas that of ODI are: Match Played-146, Won-76, Lost-65, and Draw-5. He was one of the most successful batsman and eighth highest run scorer in ODI. He was called as an Aggressive captain. He is currently the part of Supreme Court of India appointed for the investigation Committee for Spot Fixing and Betting Scandals.

2. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli

Virat is one of the best batsman in the world and he was ranked in the eighth position in a famous athlete in the world. He is leading the team India as a captain from the year 2014 to present various Nationals and ODI match. His record in Test Matches from the year 2014 to 2016/17 are: Match Played-22, Won-14, Lost-2 and Draw-6 whereas that of ODI Matches are: Match Played-17, Won-14, and Lost-3. He was the vice-captain of ODI in 2012 and then he was handed Test Captaincy in the year 2014 after the retirement of MS Dhoni. He has reached the number one spot in ICC Ranking for ODI Batsman in the year 2013 and is awarded ICC ODI Player of the year 2012.

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

MS Dhoni has to lead the team as a captain from the year 2007 to 2016 in various National Cricket Match, ODI, IPS and Test Crickets. He is one of the finest captains that the team India can have. His record in Test Matches from the year 2008-2015 are Match Played-60, Match Won-27, Draw-15 and Lost-18 which seems very impressive. Apart from this, his record in captaincy in ODI Matches is Match Played-191, Match Won-104, Lost-72 and Tied-4 which is again a great achievement. He is one of the best batsman and finest wicket-keeper of all the time. Undoubtedly, he is considered as one of the greatest captain of his generation as India has won the cricket world cup of 2011 under his captaincy.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply