Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) Winners List of All Seasons

Kabaddi is one of the famous sports in India. It has its origin from way back in 1921 when the first known framework of the rules was prepared in Maharashtra for Kabaddi competitions. Just 2 years later, sports committee of India amended the rules framed in 1921 for first official All India Kabaddi Tournament. From there on this game has never looked back. Today one of the most famous Kabaddi events in India is named the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) and in this article I will tell you about Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) Winners List of All Seasons.

Before we get on with Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) winners for all seasons, let’s take a look at the background of PKL. This professional kabaddi league is first of its kind in India that has players from all over the world, and celebrities owning different teams that face off for a battle. The first show was aired in 2014 on Star Sports & Star Gold TV channels.

The format for the Pro Kabaddi League has been inspired from Indian Premier League – T20 Cricket tournament. The director of the show is Charu Sharma and the Pro Kabaddi League is owned by Mashal Sports. The first auction of the 8 teams that will compete among themselves took place on May 20, 2014. There are 8 total teams that take part in the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) and they are:

  • Bengal Warriors
  • Bengaluru Bulls
  • Dabang Delhi
  • Jaipur Pink Panthers
  • Patna Pirates
  • Puneri Paltan
  • Telugu Titans
  • U Mumba

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2014 Season 1 Winner – Jaipur Pink Panthers

Jaipur Pink Panthers

The first season of Pro Kabaddi League commenced from July 26, 2014 and the last match was played on August 31, 2014. There were total eight participating teams that came together for total 60 matches that were made up of 56 double round robin matches, two semi-final matches, one final match, and a third place game. All the team played with full vigor and the two finalists were Jaipur Pink Panthers and U Mumba.

After putting up a tough fight, U Mumba lost the game to Jaipur Pink Panthers. The winning team won a prize money of 50 lakhs, the first runner up got 30 lakhs, second runner up got 20 lakhs and first runner up got 10 lakhs.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2015 Season 2 Winner Team – U Mumba

U Mumba

After the success of the first season, the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) came with a bang with season two. The format remained the same but the prize money this time was doubled to make the competition more aggressive. The season commenced with great show on July 18, 2015 and the last match was played in August 23rd 2015.

Just like the first season, 8 teams competed with each other for season 2 and a total of 60 matches were played, among which 58 were double round robin matches, two semi-final matches, third place game and one final match. The two teams that reached the finals to compete against each other were Bengaluru bulls and U Mumba. The U Mumba team won the match by 6 points and became the second season winner of Pro Kabaddi League Season 2.

The U Mumba team received a cash prize of Rs 1 crore,   Bengaluru Bulls received Rs. 50 lakhs, Telugu Titans received Rs. 30 lakhs, and Patna Pirates received 20 lakhs.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2016 Season 3 Winner Team – Patna Pirates

Patna Pirates

Star Sports Pro Kabaddi League was back again for the third season from 31st of January 2016 and total of 60 matches were played in the entire tournament which continued till 05th March 2016. The Patna Pirates became the winner of the match by defeating U Mumba in a thrilling game.

The winning team received 1 crore, U Mumba became the first runner up and received 50 lakhs, U Mumba became the second runner up and received 30 lakhs, and Bengal Warriors became the third runner up to receive 20 lakhs.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2016 Season 4 Winner Team – Patna Pirates

Patna Pirates

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) Season 4 hit the mat on June 24 and the final match was played between Jaipur Pink Panthers and Patna Pirates. After 60 matches, the final match took place on 31st July 2016 and Patna Pirates won second time in a row by 8 points.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2017 Season 5 Winner Team – Patna Pirates

patna pirates

The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) Season 5 was started from 28th July 2017 and for the first time, 2 teams from 11 states around the country was participated. The team players have been reshuffled and the format is even more exciting than before. The tournament was won by Patna Pirates after beating Gujarat Fortune Giants in finale.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2018-19 Season 6 Winner Team- Bengaluru Bulls

The 2018-19 season of Pro Kabaddi League featured 12 teams. Bengaluru Bulls, captained by Rohit Kumar, won the sixth season of the Pro Kabaddi League. Pawan Sehrawat, who scored 282 points, was voted the tournament’s most valuable player.

Season 6 started on 7 October 2018 and ended on 5 January 2019.

The final was a nail-biter between the Bengaluru Bulls and the Gujarat Fortunegiants. The victory was secured by Pawan Sehrawat’s brilliant performance. With his 22 points, the Bengaluru Bulls stood as a winner from 38-33 Gujarat Giants and won their first PKL championship.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2019-20 Season 7 Winner Team- Bengal Warriors

The Bengal Warriors, via a team effort, won the PKL for the very first time in their history in Season 7. This season started on 20 July 2019 and lasted till 19 October 2019.

Dabang Delhi K.C. & Bengal Warriors, two of the best teams in PKL Season 7, met in the championship game. Maninder Singh, the team’s captain and top raider (with 205 points), was forced to miss the championship game owing to injuries.

. Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh scored the game-winning Super 10 as the Bengal Warriors defeated the Dabang Delhi K.C. 39-34.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2021-22 Season 8 Winner Team Dabang Delhi K.C

By defeating Patna Pirates 37-36 in the final game of the eighth season of the PKL, Dabang Delhi K.C. became the sixth different team to win the league championship. Naveen Kumar, a two-time MVP, and brilliant all-rounder Vijay both scored Super 10s in the championship game against Mohammadreza Chiyaneh and the Patna Pirates defense.

This season started on 22nd December, 2021.

Season 8’s PKL final was the closest final in league history, with Dabang Delhi K.C. prevailing by a single point against the defending champions.

Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) 2022 Season 9 Winner Team- Jaipur Pink Panthers

The Jaipur Pink Panthers defeated the Puneri Paltan 33-29 in the deciding match of the 9th season of the Pro Kabaddi League. They are first champions, to have won multiple titles. This season commenced on 7 October, 2022.

Sunil Kumar Malik is the captain and Sanjeev Baliyan is the coach of the Jaipur Pink Panthers. This team is owned by Abhishek Bachchan.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top